2008 Global Innovator's Award Winner and Finalists

2008 Global Innovator's Award Winner and Finalists

Prior Winners:
  2011   |   2010   |   2009   |   2008   |   2007   |   2006   |   2005   |   2004   |   2003-2000     

GIA Awards
The 10th annual H .Bruce Russell Global Innovator's Award finalists met at Harvard University, 6-7 August 2008, to present their cases before a panel of senior-level real estate executives and university academics.

The Winner

Herman Miller/Hewlett-Packard

Herman Miller, in collaboration with Hewlett-Packard, developed the Space Utilization Service, a serving process, product and a decision support tool that identifies “what seat is being sat on and when,” providing reliable data to analyze worker type and space usage patterns for more efficient occupancy alternatives.


  • Cushman & Wakefield – Discovery Communications Platinum LEED Certification
  • Herman Miller/Hewlett-Packard – Space Utilization Service, Reliable Measurement of Workspace Utilization
  • Gensler/Hewlett Packard – HP Workplace Transformational Global Design Guidelines
  • Jones Lang LaSalle and Motorola – Motorola iWork Program Supported by Jones Lang LaSalle iPlan Tool
  • University of Arizona – Global Advantage, Leading Economic Growth through International Alliances
  • Ford Land's Fairlane Green
  • City of Windcrest’s Rackspace Project
  • VFA – Transforming Corporate Real Estate Operation into a Core Strategic Function – Managing Real Estate Assets at Deutsche Bank
  • Workstage – Real Estate Modeling: Impact of Real Estate Decisions on Business Results
  • Shell Oil Company – Holistic Solution Balancing Global and Local Business Workplace Needs
Judging the Industry's Best

The Global Innovator's Award cases are judged by a panel of senior industry executives and leading academics. Included this year were Mark Gorman, Nortel; Buzz Anderson, Cox Enterprises; Don Moulton, NCH Corp.; Jacqueline Vischer, Universite de Montreal; Charemon Tovar, Sprint; Glenn Sam Hunter Jr., General Services Administration; Sunil K. Das, Intel; Martha O’Mara, Corporate Portfolio Analytics; Frank A. Robinson, McKesson.

Thanks to Our Award Sponsors

click to visit the Metro Atlanta Chamber of Commerce click to visit UGL Equis click to visit Gensler